CIW-LibGuides: EPL Library: Scientific and Reference Databases

Scientific and Reference Databases

The library provides access to a variety of databases to help you locate published research as well as physical, chemical, and other property data. Access to some of the online resources listed below is restricted to Carnegie Institution personnel.

ADS (SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System) Searchable abstracts and papers in astronomy/astrophysics, physics, and geophysics from journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Includes scanned images of full-text articles from major astronomical journals, object metadata, and links to data archives.
ARIBIB Bibliographical database for historical astronomical references; includes all citations from Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts, without the abstracts. Coverage: 1800s-2000
ArXiv Online archive and preprint server for physics, astronomy, math, statistics, and computer science.
ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database More than 40,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams from 9,000 inorganic system, plus crystallographic and reaction data. (EPL use only.)
ChrmRxiv Preprint server for chemistry and allied sciences.
ChemSpider Text and structure search access to 28 million chemical structures from hundreds of data sources
Chinese Science Citation Database Covers 2 million papers from 1,200 Chinese scientific journals. Coverage: 1989-present. (EPL use only.)
Data.gov Access to more than 180,000 open datasets, tools, and resources from U.S. Government agencies
DataCite Locate datasets, software, and images in more than 2000 repositories worldwide. Find appropriate repositories for your own research data.
Directory of Open Access Journals Master directory of reputable, open access, peer-reviewed journals
EarthArXiv Preprint server for the Earth and planetary sciences. Coverage: 2017-present.
ESSOAr (Earth and Space Science Open Archive) Online archive of preprints and conference posters in the Earth and space sciences. Coverage: 2017-present.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America Database Search references to geologic field trip guidebooks of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico from 1940-present.
GeoRef Index to worldwide earth sciences literature, containing references from over 3,000 journals and to books, maps, conference proceedings, and dissertations. Coverage: 1693-present. (EPL use only.)
GeoRef Preview Database Access to most recent geoscience references, in preparation for inclusion in GeoRef
ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) Search for space group, atomic position, and unit cell data for over 185,000 substances. Includes extensive searching capabilities and visualization options. (EPL use only.)
IsisCB Explore Discovery service for articles in the history of science.
MEDLINE References and abstracts from 5000 international journals covering biomedical research, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science, biophysics, and biochemistry. Coverage: 1950-present (EPL use only.)
MetBase Meteorite information database, containing descriptions of every known meteorite, chemical analyses, noble gas isotopes, cosmogenic radionuclides, and repositories of material and prepared sections. Includes more than 90,000 literature references. (EPL use only. Contact librarian for access instructions.)
MINDAT Information on mineral properties, mineral localities, and mineral collecting
National Geologic Map Database Search for topographic, geological, geophysical, and other thematic maps of the United States from over 600 publishers. Includes the U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon.
NTRS (NASA STI Repository) Access to NASA-funded conference papers, journal articles, patents, research reports, and images.
OSTI.GOV Search for energy-related journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, patents, and DOE-sponsored scientific and technical reports
PDF-4+ The world’s largest sources of inorganic diffraction data from crystals and powders, with over 460,000 entries. (EPL use only. Available for searching in the XRD lab. Contact librarian for access instructions.)
Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online American Ceramic Society-NIST database of 30,000 critically-evaluated phase diagrams for inorganic systems (EPL use only.)
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index Discover doctoral dissertations and masters theses from North America, Europe, and around the world. Coverage: 1637-present. (EPL use only.)
re3data (Registry of Research Data Repositories) Locate data repositories worldwide in all disciplines
RRUFF Project Integrated database of Raman and infrared spectra, X-ray diffraction, and chemistry data for minerals. Includes the IMA mineral list
Russian Science Citation Index Covers 2 million papers from 2000 Russian scientific journals. Coverage: 2005-present. (EPL use only.)
ThermoLit Free tool from NIST for searching thermophysical and thermochemical property literature
USGS Publications Warehouse Access to 160,000 U.S. Geological Survey publications and maps.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) Search for papers in more than 9,000 journals in 150 disciplines, as well as in books, conference proceedings, and data repositories. Find out where each paper has been cited and follow citation links backward and forward in time. Set up personal research alerts. Calculate your H-Index. Free access to EndNote Online. Coverage: 1900-present. (EPL use only.)
WorldCat Search for books, journals, videos, CDs, maps, etc. held by 10,000 libraries worldwide

Print Indexes and Bibliographies

In addition to the literature databases included above, the library has a number of print-based periodical indexes and bibliographies that are useful for searching older literature. For assistance in locating these, please ask the librarian:

Bibliography on High Pressure Research (1969-1991)
Ceramic Abstracts (1960-1997)
Mineralogical Abstracts (1920-2003)
Physics Abstracts (1898-1989)
Physics and Chemistry of Glasses (1977-2017)
Royal Society Catalogue of Scientific Papers (1800-1900)